Showing posts with label Year in Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Year in Review. Show all posts

Sunday, January 01, 2017

The Colors of the World


Once upon a time the colors of the world started to quarrel. All claimed that they were the best. The most important. The most useful. The favorite.

Green said:
"Clearly I am the most important. I am the sign of life and of hope. I
was chosen for grass, trees and leaves. Without me, all animals would
die. Look over the countryside and you will see that I am in the
majority."

Blue interrupted:
"You only think about the earth, but consider the sky and the sea. It is
the water that is the basis of life and drawn up by the clouds from the
deep sea. The sky gives space and peace and serenity. Without my peace,
you would all be nothing."

Yellow chuckled:
"You are all so serious. I bring laughter, gaiety, and warmth into the
world. The sun is yellow, the moon is yellow, the stars are yellow.
Every time you look at a sunflower, the whole world starts to smile.
Without me there would be no fun."

Orange started next to blow her trumpet:
"I am the color of health and strength. I may be scarce, but I am
precious for I serve the needs of human life. I carry the most important
vitamins. Think of carrots, pumpkins, oranges, mangoes, and papayas. I
don't hang around all the time, but when I fill the sky at sunrise or
sunset, my beauty is so striking that no one gives another thought to
any of you."

Red could stand it no longer he shouted out:
"I am the ruler of all of you. I am blood - life's blood! I am the color
of danger and of bravery. I am willing to fight for a cause. I bring
fire into the blood. Without me, the earth would be as empty as the
moon. I am the color of passion and of love, the red rose, the
poinsettia and the poppy."

Purple rose up to his full height:
He was very tall and spoke with great pomp: "I am the color of royalty
and power. Kings, chiefs, and bishops have always chosen me for I am the
sign of authority and wisdom. People do not question me! They listen and
obey."

Finally Indigo spoke, much more quietly than all the others, but with
just as much determination:
"Think of me. I am the color of silence. You hardly notice me, but
without me you all become superficial. I represent thought and
reflection, twilight and deep water. You need me for balance and
contrast, for prayer and inner peace."

And so the colors went on boasting, each convinced of his or her own
superiority. Their quarreling became louder and louder. Suddenly there
was a startling flash of bright lightening thunder rolled and boomed.
Rain started to pour down relentlessly. The colors crouched down in
fear, drawing close to one another for comfort.

In the midst of the clamor, God began to speak:
"You foolish colors, fighting amongst yourselves, each trying to
dominate the rest. Don't you know that you were each made for a special
purpose, unique and different? Join hands with one another and come to
me."

Doing as they were told, the colors united and joined hands.m
God continued:"From now on, when it rains, each of you will stretch across
the sky in a great bow of color as a reminder that you can all live in peace. 
The Rainbow is a sign of hope for tomorrow."

And so, whenever a good rain washes the world, and a Rainbow appears in the sky, let us remember to appreciate one another.


-- Author Unknown

Goodbye 2016 and
Happy New Year!!!
May we all turns the clouds, the rain, and the worry and fighting into rainbows of hope. 
For eventually, the sun will come out again.

2016 projects completed:
Quilts:7
Blankets or Comforters: 24

Cloth Napkins 75
Potholders, coffee press wraps...lots
Bibs, Burp Pads, Cloth Wipers etc. tons and tons and tons
Wedding, Birthday,Christmas misc.crafted items...tons and tons and tons and tons

Some for family, some for gifts for others
25 a year to charity, always


Michele Bilyeu Creates With Heart and Hands as she shares her imaginative, magical, and healing journey from Alaska to Oregon. Creating, designing, sewing, quilting, and wildcrafting... from my heart and with my hands.

Thursday, December 31, 2015

2015 Was Quite the Year!


 With a renewed focus on family, 2015 became even more exciting and project filled!

As one of the first (actually I think I was the first ;-) bloggers to document the whole "Year in Review" photo collage and list idea for arts and crafting projects, now I feel I have to share..once again..my projects. But I leave off so many because my photo collage programs will only allow a certain number of photos and I've had as many as 150 projects in a year! So the collage above is just a sampling!


The biggest project was my creation of the Mary Lou Weidman Healing Power of Love facebook project. Mary Lou was facing a frightening cancer diagnosis and all of us were doing our best to rally around and support her. Someone suggested sending her quilt blocks, but as her close friend and neighbor confided in me..."if we do that, knowing her, she will feel pressured to make the quilt instead of recuperating after surgery!"



So, I knew I was most likely to say "I'll do it! And actually do it! Ha!!! And I did! 
















With about 35 quilters from around the US and Canada, we each made from 1 to half a dozen quilt blocks. Everyone mailed them to me and bit by bit, I created a liberated design layout and transformed them into a wonderful quilt filled with love!











And of course, I did lots and lots of quilts and blankets for donation to a service group. Alexia's Cozy Covers that meets at a local church to create quilts and blankets for foster children and others in need.



Fleece blankets are cut and tied while I am there on the second Saturday of each month, unless they are pieced as some of mine are from fleece scraps that would otherwise be tossed. But I also make flannel receiving blankets and quilts for donation at home.




I make quilts for baby gifts for others..and usually forget to even take their picture! But when I have a grand baby on the way, it's all about baby layettes! Last year, my first grandchild and only grandaughter was born and I whipped up about 100 items for her from quilts, to blankets to burp pads, to sheets, and pads and changing pad covers.



This year, my second grand child was born..a little boy. I had a lot of emotional investment in giving him the best start that I could with comfort items from my heart and by my hands. So, that's what I did,  and continue to do!



 
 Another 85 things for him...quilts, receiving blankets, burp pads, bibs, sheets, changing pad covers,  nursery curtains, lots and lots of pillows with the help of his mama for their home as well as for his nursery. A big fleece blanket for home and hospital use by mom and dad,




Cloth diapers, padded inserts, a little snoedel (snoodle) doll that holds mama's scent when baby has to spend time in a NICU or PICU or children's hospital. Lots of fun things...too many to show here!!! But not nearly enough as my heart wanted to make!



 So, of course more items, bibs as needed, a Christmas bib for Christmas Day..oh my fun never ends!



With Heart and Hands 

My Links to lots of baby quilts, blankets, nursery items, and clothing!

 

Links from my blog for Creating items for Babies and Children:





NICU, PICU, and Childrens Hospital Wraps & Gowns: Updated 2015

 

Making a Snoedel, Snoodle, Snuggle Scent Doll

 


Creating a Modern Baby Layette

 


Making Fidget Quilts for Children as well as Alzheimer's Patients: 



 And made quite a few of those this year, as well..and taught a workshop for our Mid Valley Guild Quilt Bolt to Bed charitable quilting day in August!




And when fabric isn't enough for me, I add paper and make cards for gifts and to recognize holidays or other special events. So I made quite a few of those in 2015, as well!


 Fabric + Paper = My Valentine Fun!

 Making Valentine Hearts and Love

I think I need an intervention. Or maybe just another 

Snippets and Threadtales

blog post?.......How in the world do I get so much done and still spend so much time with my beloved family, travel to help family in Alaska, host a big baby shower two years in a row and face so many challenges...

 oh wait...I also made a MVQG Challenge Quilt in 2015!!!

 "I Want to Go Home"
Michele Savikko Bilyeu
Douglas, Alaska and Salem, Oregon

MVQG Challenge: Parade of Homes

Read about my inspiration for this quilt on my blog post about my mother's Alzheimers...

2016 is going to be so much fun, more time with family, even more time with my grandchildren! I can't wait. Oh yes, I may sew and quilt and craft and make my art, a little too......


Michele Bilyeu blogs With Heart and Hands as she shares her creative and healing  journey from Alaska to Oregon. Wildcrafting and the textiles arts... sewing, quilting, and creating prayer flags. Join me as I add my healing energies to changing our world..one little project, one gift of sharing from my heart, at a time.

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

2014: My Year of 250 Projects


This year was joyous with the birth of my first grandchild and lots and lots of time for family get togethers, challenging with my husband's stoke in April, heartbreaking with the deaths of my youngest sister in law to cancer and a dear friend of 45 years due to a hiking accident.

 I did a lot of sewing, quilting, and crafting.  I read and read and read and sew and sew and sew. And yes, I also watch all of my favorite TV shows, listen to music, and spend every single holiday of any kind celebrating family with big dinners and lots of canoe trips and other get aways for fun.

I don't know how it all fits in, but it sure does and it makes for a happy and fulfilling life in spite of the challenges, and the losses.

Picasa Collages Only Allowed me 54 images, but I actually made 250 projects this years. I keep a journal and record the items and I take lots and lots of photos, but it still took me all day to find some of the photos since they often are img..this and that.

 And of course then, I could only use 54 of them ;-) But just to give you an idea, my year included:

24 Prayer Flags
6 Fabric Art Post Cards
150 + Prayer Flag and Postcard Class Kits,fabrics, directions, templates, irons-ons etc for each of 20.
3 Garlands of pennant shaped banners for a shower
4 Patio Cushion Covers
4 Barstool and 1 High Chairs Cushions
4 Hot Pads, 1 coffee press wrap
2 Counter Cloths
2 Table Runners
5 Pillowcases
4 Quilts
4 Fleece Blankets
1 Flannel Comforter
6 Flannel Receiving Blankets
3 Diaper Pads
3 Crib Sheets
1 waterproof Crib Pad
1 Crib Bedskirt
1 Crib Mobile with 3D Bumblebees and interchangeable colored circles
3  Carry All Bags as Gifts
15 fabric Christmas gift bags
1 Christmas Stocking
1 fleece stuffed giraffe baby toy
3 bibs
9 Burp Pads
3 Changing Pad sheets
3 changing pads
Set of 6 Baby Towels
PUL waterproof bag and 30 Cloth Diaper Wipes
6 PUL Waterproof "All in Two" Cloth Baby Diapers with 25 padded diaper soaker inserts

And lots more smaller items for gifts, etc.

Now for 2015! I didn't think I could possibly sew more than last year, but I think I did! I already have ideas and plans for new projects..starting tomorrow!!



Michele Bilyeu blogs With Heart and Hands as she shares a quilting journey from Alaska to Oregon with thousands of free Quilting, Sewing, and Crafting Patterns and Tutorials. Help change the world, one little quilt, art quilt, and prayer flag at a time!

Wednesday, January 01, 2014

What a Year!

 
My completed projects for 2013 included:

25 small format art quilts donated to The Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative
17 prayer flags
20 table mats or pot holders
7 pillow cases for donation to foster care program
6 Christmas stockings
3 sympathy art quilts
2 nursing aprons that fold into pouches..tutorial, soon!
1 baby blanket4 baby towels and 6 baby washcloths
1 toddler neck warmer
8 carry bags


www.with-heart-and-hands.com/2013/12/what-year.html

DIY Wedding for my youngest daughter: 

6 batches of home made paper (blender pulp, impressed with flowers and leaves-about 90 sheets)
75 home made wedding invitations using the paper plus cardstock, twine, brads, print offs etc.
14 burlap table runners
90 osnaburg cloth napkins
 9 large' thank you' burlap and homemade wooden buttoned carry bags

1 wedding dress for my daughter
my own pattern design and using 18 yards embossed silk and satin, 
with a 16 gore (double layer) handkerchief hem

1 wedding bolero jacket from embossed silk and satin


Photos of many projects not shown as I couldn't find them,  or the program couldn't fit them in. And if you count each item, that's 362 projects. Should I hurry up and make 3 more so it's one item a day for all of last year? I don't think so, thank you very much.I may almost never sleep and be more than a bit ditzy, but ....

It's keeping busy and being creative that got me through the hard, sad times of losing both of our mothers, an aunt, and an uncle and having two SIL's being diagnosed with terminal illnesses.



And yes, we (our family of 8) grew the flowers, created the floral arrangements, the bouquet and boutonnieres,  carved out the logs, and did all of the decorating, ourselves.

And no, I did not cook all the food, or make the wine and beer...but we wanted too ;-) And no, I did not play the cello, guitar, banjo, or drums. But the bride and groom made one of the three outdoor games!


 And yes, I'm tired, but there were so many moments of both light and clarity. So many glorious days of joy amidst all of the challenging days and hard times of sorrow.

I am also excited about projects in progress and the New Year ahead! Here's to 2014 and more creative fun! And...



January 1, 2014 presents the first of two supermoons to occur in a single calendar month. The second supermoon will come on January 30, 2014. We won’t have a single calendar month with two supermoons again until January 2018.

What, you say? Supermoon? But the moon isn’t anywhere near full! That’s right. These aren’t full supermoons. They are new supermoons; the moon is at the new phase for both the January 1 and January 30 supermoon. Follow the links below above (I am both numerically and spatially challenged, for real) to learn more about the supermoons of 2014.


Michele Bilyeu blogs With Heart and Hands as she shares a quilting journey through her life in Salem, Oregon and Douglas, Alaska. Sewing, quilting, and wildcrafting, with small format art quilts, prayer flags, and comfort quilts for a variety of charitable programs. And best of all, sharing thousands of links to Free Quilt and Quilt Block Patterns and encouraging others to join her and make and donate quilts to charitable causes.   Help us change the world, one little quilt at a time!

Sunday, December 30, 2012

A Year of Challenges, A Year of Miracles...


..and even a year of quilting adventures, learning, and great fun!  I'm not sure what I would have done without the opportunities to express myself through my blogs, my crafts, and my quilting art.

Thanks to all of you who came here to share, to read, to merge your hearts with mine.....as I walked this journey....day by day, piece by peace.

All I had to do was click my heels, blink twice..and I just went over 4,000,000 views!  It was a very challenging year.....but just to know that many people came here and shared their love of quilting with me.... is awesome!

Many, many blessings to all of you in this coming new year!

And yes, I've originally published a bit early for New Year's Eve...but it's already arrived half a globe away ;)

(((Happiest of New Years!!!)))
                               

shown above:
Some (but not all) of my finished projects for 2012:

baby quilts, 17 art quilts, two pillowcases and 3 senior bibs for a local care home, gifts and donations of 8 different "kitchen quilts" or potholders and mitts, a new meditation stool cover,  a multitude of small projects like bookmarks, business cards, mug rugs, coasters, breast cancer awareness pockets for Melanie Testa, my own quilting carry bag, and a praying for a miracle heart shaped pillow.  Plus three prayer flags that have flown in the Oceanside Museum of Art for all of November and December of this year!  And boy, did all of that flying help..miracles abound!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


AAQI January 2013 Auction for Alzheimer's Research Funding!!!!

12,230 - Well, Hello Kitty!

 I am so blessed to have another quilt in the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative (AAQI)
January Auction. The bidding runs from Jan. 1-Jan10th. All profits from the sale of my quilts go towards Alzheiemer's research funding. Please bid and (perhaps even win) my small format art quilt! 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Michele Bilyeu blogs With Heart and Hands as she shares a quilting journey through her Heartbreak to Hope life in Salem, Oregon and Douglas, Alaska with her AAQI Quilting. Michele is best known for sharing thousands of links to Free Quilt and Quilt Block Patterns and for inspiring others to see beyond their own personal challenges and to join in her AAQI  Liberated Quilting Challenge and make or donate small art quilts to the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative (AAQI)  We change ourselves, and our world.....one little quilt at a time!

Saturday, January 01, 2011

Looking Forward, Looking Back



It was a long, hard, sad, and challenging year. But when I look back at how much I made and how much I gave...it just plain makes my year so much better and happier!

The Year's Sewing in Review:
14 quilts...infant to queen
11 art quilts donated this year to the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative
15 pillowcases for a local foster care program
20 potholders for a local women's correctional institution quilting fund
25 assorted small items...bibs, bags, diapers, burp cloths donated, plus small items as gifts

And of course, being Jan.1..it's time to check out the quilts for sale or at auction at AAQI:
26 AAQI Quilts View or Bid

Liberated Quilting Challenge

Get the latest news about the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative on the AAQI BLOG!
For more frequent news follow the AAQI on FaceBook and Twitter.

Happy New Years 2011 ....

and today is 1-1-11.....how cool is that!

shown above:
most, but not all of my 2010 sewing
Michele Bilyeu quilts for AAQI..the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative. Won't you please join us? :) 

Sunday, January 04, 2009

2008 in Review: What Did You Sew?

From 2008
After spending 5 months in Alaska helping my parents, I wasn't sure just how much sewing I actually ever got done back in Oregon. So, I decided to peruse my files and folders and just see what I did and did not get done in 2008!
And while my photo montage is missing some projects and even repeats a few bags, I also made a number of fun quilts.....patriotic comfort ones...... QOV donations.... tiny preemie quilts..... slightly bigger newborn baby quilts, and of course....... comfort quilts for children.
I tried out some variations of photo transfers with patchwork and made 2 journals, and a number of other freezer paper photo transfer items such as pillows.
Then I got all inspired by the recycling movement and the grassroots 'guerilla giving' in Great Britain of shopping bags and made 28 recyclable morsbags...some I just gave away spontaneously to strangers and others as The Gift of an Enduring Legacy . I had sewing accessories fun with 3 wrist pincushions, 2 mugwraps, several patriotic banners, a new sewing machine mat with pockets, and a fun,new threadcatcher.
I continued with my bag crazy stage and made several Japanese knotbags , Fabric Bags and Birthday Card Envelopes and little gift reticules, and my constant addiction....
lots of hotpads and potholders and endless fabric napkins !
I continued my fabric artcard donations to the Alzheimer's Art Qult Initiative and lots of charity quilting.. and then of course..others that I couldn't find photos of and only half remember ever making.....!
Oh yes, I made myself a new kuspuk and then helped 16 children learn to sew and make their own. And then my last trip, I helped 18 children with their leaf print pillows. Such fun!!!
And here, I thought I never even had time to sew this year! I feel better now. Thanks for the sewing therapy review ;)
So, now...show me what you did in 2008 and drop me a link and a line!!!!
2008
Make a Sewing Machine Pad With Pockets
Japanese Knot Bag Tutorial
How To Make A Kuspuk
Make a Wrist Pincushion
Freezer Paper Photo Transfer Tutorial
Blue Star Banner for Military Families
morsbags..recyclable giveaway shopping bag